Monday 10 February 2014

Manthan is an inter- deanery B-plan competition 2014

Manthan is an inter- deanery B-plan competition held in Christ University, annually. This year too we had a successful Chapter. This year the event was spread over three rounds comprising of a Mentoring session and two rounds to churn out the best business plans of Christ University. 

We had a total of 23 teams registering for the mentoring session and 13 of them appearing for the first round consisting of 30 participants. The teams hailed from various departments across the university including Deanery of Science, Department of Commerce, Department of Management Studies. We had an elite panel of judges for the first round comprising of accomplished personalities of the corporate world. Four teams qualified for the second and final round of the competition.

We had Prof. (Dr.) Leena James and Prof. S. G. Raja Sekharan as the judges for the second and final round. There was intense competition among the finalists and 2 teams emerged as winners of the event. They were OutSmart ( Winners ) and Why-U ( Runners- Up). The winners will be getting a cash prize of Rs 10,000 and a chance for their B-Plan to be incubated in Centre for Entrepreneurship Development and Research (CEDAR), CUIM and the Runners-Up will be getting a cash prize of Rs 5,000.

Prof. S. G. Raja Sekharan was impressed with both the winner's B-Plans and invited them for a one-on-one session to improve their B-Plan. This incident, was the highlight of the event as the purpose of Manthan is providing deserving entrepreneurs an opportunity to convert their ideas into reality. We would like to thank Prof. (Dr.) Ansuman Chatterjee for his guidance and untiring initiative in making this event possible. We would also like to thank, the student coordinators of the event for their sincere and timely efforts to give the event its final shape and all the participants of the event for their enthusiasm which has been instrumental to make the event successful.
The details of the winning teams are as follows:

1st Prize:    Team 'Outsmart'
Team members: Aniket Dey and Bhargavi Balasundaram
Department: Department of Commerce

2nd Prize:   Team 'Why U'
Team members: Rahul Acharya and Vamsi Krishna
Department: Deanery of Science

2nd Runners Up:    Team 'Smart Park'
Team members: Yash Baid, Salonie Mehta, Namita Kulkarni and Carolyn Theresa
Department: Department of Commerce

 - Team Manthan

No comments:

Post a Comment

Ethereal Symphony

The Christ University Choir (CUC) is a harmonious blend of musical passion and artistic expression, representing various talents from variou...